Best Friend being Mean

12/15/2010 15:20

Dear Aiko 
 My 'bestfriend' is being mean. We're both 15. Lately, she has been making me feel like absolute dirt. I hate it so much. At school, she pretty much ignores me all day to flirt with boys she 'doesnt like', then at the end of the day asks me whats wrong, I tell her how I feel, she 'feels bad' and apologises, and continues doing it the next day.

Now, on facebook, she added a friends girlfriend, and made status's like "so glad i found my new besties!" and "spending the day with my new favourite *name*!".  It makes me feel rejected.

I really can't take this anymore, i feel like crap. What should I do?

-Katelyn
 

Dear Katelyn,

   Don't let her be the center of your life, by focusing on how she makes you feel.    If she's making you feel like dirt, find someone else to hang out with who makes you feel good about yourself.  Sometimes it's hard, but we just have to let go of the people who no longer care about us.  Stop hanging out with her, but don't be rude or disrespectful. Show her that you are strong with or without her; that you value your friendship, but not over your confidence.  If she realizes she misses being your friend, then be friends again. If not, you are better off without her.

Sincerely,

Aiko

Back

What's your advice?

Date 12/16/2010

By Tess

Subject Ditch her

Reply

Forget her, she's a jerk anyways.